generic hexagon

Blue Bulls swap three for WP clash

  • 11 Aug 2017
Bulls centre Dries Swanepoel Bulls centre Dries Swanepoel

Coach Nollis Marais has made three changes to the Blue Bulls’ backline for their Currie Cup match against Western Province at Newlands on Saturday.

Scrumhalf Piet van Zyl was rested for the Bulls' round four clash against the Sharks, but returns to the starting XV ahead of André Warner for this weekend’s game.

Wing Kefentse Mahlo and centre Dries Swanepoel are also back in the side at the expense of Travis Ismaiel and Franco Naude.

Blue Bulls – 15 Manie Libbok, 14 Kefentse Mahlo, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Tony Jantjies, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Nic de Jager, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Boom Prinsloo (c), 5 Ruben van Heerden, 4 Irne Herbst, 3 John-Roy Jenkinson, 2 Jan-Henning Campher, 1 Pierre Schoeman.
Subs: 16 Johan Grobbelaar, 17 Matthys Basson, 18 Abongile Nonkontwana, 19 Shaun Adendorff, 20 Andre Warner, 21 JT Jackson, 22 Duncan Matthews.

Currie Cup teams (Round 5)

Photo: Johan Rynners/Gallo Images

Ruan Botha

Botha’s been a tower of strength

Sharks captain Ruan Botha has emerged as another player who can add real value to the Springboks’ rich second-row resources, writes CRAIG LEWIS.

Franco Mostert in SA Rugby magazine

Mostert’s locked and loaded

Franco Mostert has translated his Super Rugby form to the Test stage to become the Springboks’ first-choice No 5, writes CRAIG LEWIS.

Cody Taylor and Malcolm Marx shake hands after the game

‘Boks, Marx were magnificent’

What NICK MALLETT had to say on SuperSport about the Springboks' 25-24 defeat against the All Blacks in Cape Town.

You may also like

Get our daily email update. Subscribe to the SA Rugby magazine newsletter: