generic hexagon

Cheetahs too good for Griquas

  • 31 Aug 2013
Cheetahs lock Teboho Mohoje against Griquas

The Free State Cheetahs beat Griquas 40-20 in Bloemfontein, scoring five tries to two.

The win ended the Cheetahs' two-match losing streak and took them briefly to the top of the Currie Cup log (they finished the round in second spot).

They led 22-6 at the break after scoring three tries.

Boom Prinsloo went over from a driving maul, and then offloaded well in the tackle to put Raymond Rhule away.

Prinsloo grabbed his second on the stroke of half-time after Elgar Watts' chip over the top had bounced favourably for Johann Sadie. He passed to Robert Ebersohn, who shrugged off a tackle and got over the line before tossing the ball to his captain.

The Cheetahs secured the bonus point eight minutes into the second half when excellent handling saw Watts dot down. Griquas, though, hit back when Rocco Jansen kicked ahead and won the race to the ball in the dead-goal area.

Both teams then lost players to yellow cards. Teboho Mohoje took out Marnus Hugo as the Griquas scrumhalf tried to take a quick tap on halfway, before replacement Marnus Schoeman was pinged for going off his feet with Griquas having already received a team warning.

Watts kicked a penalty for the Cheetahs, and Australian Rory Arnold scored a try for Griquas on his debut, only to be red-carded for biting. The try stood, though, and Scheepers' conversion cut the deficit to 12.

But Watts' second penalty made the game safe for the hosts before Kevin Luiters scored their fifth try after the hooter.

Free State Cheetahs – Tries: Boom Prinsloo (2), Raymond Rhule, Elgar Watts, Kevin Luiters. Conversions: Riaan Smit (2), Elgar Watts. Penalties: Smit, Watts (2).
Griquas – Tries: Rocco Jansen, Rory Arnold. Conversions: Nico Scheepers (2). Penalties: Scheepers (2).

Free State Cheetahs – 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Riaan Smit, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Robert Ebersohn, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Elgar Watts, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Lappies Labuschagne, 6 Boom Prinsloo (c), 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Teboho Mohoje, 3 Rossouw de Klerk, 2 Hercu Liebenberg, 1 Trevor Nyakane.
Subs: 16 Ethienne Reynecke, 16 Wian du Preez, 18 Waltie Vermeulen, 19 Davon Raubenheimer, 20 Kevin Luiters, 21 Willie du Plessis, 22 Piet Lindeque

Griquas – 15 PJ Vermeulen, 14 Nico Scheepers, 13 JP Nel, 12 Howard Mnisi, 11 Rocco Jansen, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Marnus Hugo, 8 Leon Karemaker, 7 Burger Schoeman, 6 Carel Greeff, 5 Rory Arnold, 4 Hilton Lobberts, 3 Nick Schonert, 2 Ryno Barnes (c), 1 Steph Roberts.
Subs: 16 Matt Dobson, 17 Brummer Badenhorst, 18 Patrick O'Brien, 19 Marnus Schoeman, 20 Jacques Coetzee, 21 Du Randt Gerber, 22 Richard Lawson.

Photo: Johan Pretorius/Gallo Images

Player drain in SA Rugby magazine

Fighting a losing battle

JON CARDINELLI reveals the reasons for South African rugby's player drain and why talented youngsters may continue to move abroad.

Dillyn Leyds and Sbu Nkosi go for the high ball

‘Error rate in Durban was dreadful’

What former Bok coach NICK MALLETT had to say on SuperSport about the past weekend's Super Rugby matches involving South African teams.

Warrick Gelant

Bok team taking shape

After 10 rounds of Super Rugby, CRAIG LEWIS picks a Springbok side that could line up for the June Tests against England.

You may also like

Get our daily email update. Subscribe to the SA Rugby magazine newsletter: