generic hexagon

Alexander to succeed Hoskins

  • 27 Sep 2016
Mark Alexander Mark Alexander

Mark Alexander will be elected as the new president of SA Rugby at a general council meeting on Thursday.

Alexander is the current deputy president, but was appointed acting president after the resignation of his predecessor, Oregan Hoskins, last month. In a statement, the governing body confirmed Alexander's nomination was unopposed. 

Two candidates, Francois Davids (executive council member) and Thelo Wakefield (Western Province president), will vie for the deputy presidency. 

If Davids is elected as deputy president, Wakefield, Schalk Liebenberg (KwaZulu-Natal), Vivian Lottering (Valke) and Jan Marais (Griffons) will go head to head for his vacant position on the executive council.

Photo: Steve Haag/Gallo Images 

Willem Alberts in action for the Boks

Boks need forward firepower

Willem Alberts should come straight into the Springboks’ starting lineup to add some much-needed grunt up front, writes CRAIG LEWIS.

The Pumas celebrate a famous win

‘Boks’ luck finally ran out’

What former Bok coach NICK MALLETT had to say on SuperSport about the Springboks' 26-24 defeat to Argentina in Salta.

Ruan Combrinck in SA Rugby magazine

Combrinck’s flying high

Ruan Combrinck forced his way into the Springbok starting XV with a game-changing cameo at Ellis Park, writes CRAIG LEWIS.

You may also like

Get our daily email update. Subscribe to the SA Rugby magazine newsletter: