generic hexagon

Favourable draw for Blitzboks

  • 31 Jan 2016
The Blitzboks at the Wellington Sevens The Blitzboks at the Wellington Sevens

South Africa will face Kenya, Scotland and Russia in Pool B at the inaugural Sydney Sevens tournament.

The draw for the fourth tournament of the World Rugby Sevens Series, taking place from 6-7 February, was made before the Wellington Sevens Cup final and sees Wellington winners New Zealand drawn with Australia, Canada and Portugal in Pool A.

Fiji, third-place finishers in Wellington, will take on Argentina, Scotland and France in Pool C, while England meet the USA, Japan and Wales in Pool D.

Sydney Sevens draw:

Pool A: Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Portugal
Pool B: South Africa, Kenya, Scotland, Russia
Pool C: Fiji, Argentina, Samoa, France
Pool D: England, USA, Japan, Wales

Photo: Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images

The Stormers celebrate their win over the Blues

Four takeaways from past weekend

What we learned from the fifth round of Super Rugby, according to CRAIG LEWIS.

Rieko Ioane scored two tries

‘Lions loss is worrying’

What former Bok coach NICK MALLETT had to say on SuperSport about the past weekend's Super Rugby matches involving South African teams.

The Springboks hunt down England fullback Mike Brown

Boks can target embattled England

England’s dramatic fall from grace should provide an ideal opportunity for the Springboks to make a successful start to the Rassie Erasmus era in June, writes CRAIG LEWIS.

You may also like

Get our daily email update. Subscribe to the SA Rugby magazine newsletter: