generic hexagon

Fit-again Senatla back on WP wing

  • 13 Sep 2017
WP wing Seabelo Senatla WP wing Seabelo Senatla

Seabelo Senatla will start on the right wing as one of three changes to the Western Province lineup for Friday's match against the Pumas in Nelspruit.

Senatla replaces fellow Blitzbok Werner Kok, who moves to the bench.

Up front, JC Janse van Rensburg will start at loosehead prop with tighthead Michael Kumbirai coming in for Wilco Louw, who has been called up to the Springbok squad.

No 8 Nizaam Carr will earn his 50th cap for Western Province.

'We have seen how tough it has been for sides to go to Mbombela Stadium this season, so we know that we will have to be at our best on Friday,' said WP coach John Dobson.

'We have challenged ourselves to lift our intensity and be as accurate as possible for what is a critical hurdle in our Currie Cup campaign.'

Western Province – 15 Craig Barry, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Huw Jones, 11 Ruhan Nel, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Cobus Wiese, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Chris van Zyl (c), 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Ramone Samuels, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Subs: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Caylib Oosthuizen, 19 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 20 Dewaldt Duvenage, 21 Robert du Preez, 22 Werner Kok.

Photo: Carl Fourie/Gallo Images

Ross Cronjé has started eight Tests this year

Boks’ No 9 conundrum

The lack of Test-quality depth at scrumhalf remains a major concern for the Springboks less than two years away from the next World Cup, writes CRAIG LEWIS.

Jean Deysel in SA Rugby magazine

Deysel’s smooth transition

Former Sharks flank Jean Deysel joined a large South African contingent at Ulster, writes JONATHAN BRADLEY.

Allister Coetzee and Ireland coach Joe Schmidt

Dublin result will echo into World Cup

Psychological points will be on offer when two teams, who are likely to meet in the 2019 World Cup quarter-finals, clash at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday, writes JON CARDINELLI.

You may also like

Get our daily email update. Subscribe to the SA Rugby magazine newsletter: