generic hexagon

Rampant Bulls crush Griquas

  • 28 Sep 2013
Bulls captain Jono Ross takes the ball forward against Griquas Bulls captain Jono Ross takes the ball forward against Griquas

The Blue Bulls kept their Currie Cup semi-final hopes alive with a 52-10 win against Griquas in Kimberley.

With two rounds of matches remaining, the Bulls now have 16 log points, just one less than the fourth-placed Cheetahs.

The Bulls played like a team that had to win to stay in play-off contention.

Handré Pollard opened the scoring with a penalty, before Wiaan Liebenberg went over for an unconverted try that came from a rolling maul. The Bulls struck again in the 24th minute when they went wide to Jacques du Plessis, whose try made it 15-0.

Griquas, though, briefly got themselves back into the game following a period of play that saw them twice opt to scrum from kickable penalties. When they were awarded a third penalty, they chose to scrum again, and when the Bulls collapsed it again the referee had no hesitation in awarding a penalty try and showing Marcel van der Merwe a yellow card.

Gouws Prinsloo kicked the conversion and added a penalty on the stroke of half-time to reduce the deficit to five.

However, the Bulls reasserted their dominance early in the second half, with a Pollard penalty and a try to Currie Cup debutant William Small-Smith, who rounded off a backline attack that had begun on halfway.

Griquas were then reduced to 14 men when JP Nel was yellow-carded, and Paul Willemse barged over from a scrum soon after for the bonus-point try and a 30-10 lead.

The Bulls went on to score another three tries, through Small-Smith, Willemse and Jürgen Visser, to go past the 50-mark.

Griquas – Try: Penalty try. Conversion: Gouws Prinsloo. Penalty: Prinsloo.
Blue Bulls – Tries: Wiaan Liebenberg, Jacques du Plessis, William Small-Smith (2), Paul Willemse (2), Jürgen Visser. Conversions: Handré Pollard (4). Penalties: Pollard (3).

Griquas – 15 Gouws Prinsloo, 14 Richard Lawson, 13 JP Nel, 12 Howard Mnisi, 11 Rocco Jansen, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Marnus Hugo, 8 Leon Karemaker, 7 Burger Schoeman, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Jaco Nepgen, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 Ryno Barnes (c), 1 Steph Roberts.
Subs: 16 Matt Dobson, 17 Brendon Pitzer, 18 Patrick O'Brien, 19 RJ Liebenberg, 20 Jacques Coetzee, 21 Du Randt Gerber, 22 Jean Stemmet.

Blue Bulls – 15 Jürgen Visser , 14 Sampie Mastriet, 13 William Small-Smith, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Akona Ndungane, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Jono Ross (c), 7 Jacques du Plessis, 6 Wiaan Liebenberg, 5 David Bulbring, 4 Paul Willemse, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 Marcel van der Merwe.
Subs: 16 Mbongeni Mbonambi, 17 Frik Kirsten/Dean Greyling, 18 Grant Hattingh, 19 Jacques Engelbrecht, 20 Lohan Jacobs, 21 Ulrich Beyers, 22 Clayton Blommetjies.

Photo: Lee Warren/Gallo Images

Handré Pollard

Super Rugby preview: Bulls

The Vodacom Bulls will still be in a transition phase in 2015 but should improve on last year's campaign.

Schalk Burger

Super Rugby preview: Stormers

The Stormers are under pressure to perform in 2015 after two disappointing seasons.

Cornal Hendricks

Super Rugby preview: Cheetahs

The Cheetahs could struggle again in this year's tournament after a mass exodus of players.

You may also like
Get our daily email update. Subscribe to the SA Rugby magazine newsletter: