Craig Lewis

SA Team of the Week (Round 17)

Kwagga Smith Kwagga Smith

CRAIG LEWIS picks a form South African XV based on performances in round 17 of Super Rugby.

The Lions have set themselves up for another charge to the final after they comfortably overcame the Sharks in Durban on Saturday afternoon, with last year’s runners-up finishing as the leading overall team.

Although the Lions weren’t quite at their best, they still lead the way with five player selections, with influential flank Kwagga Smith deservedly walking away with the Man of the Match award at Kings Park.

However, the Sharks did gain some good reward at scrum time, and their props Coenie Oosthuizen and Thomas du Toit are rewarded in this regard.

The Stormers weren’t at their best against the Bulls at Loftus, but still came away with an important 41-33 victory to ensure that they head towards the playoffs on the back of three successive wins after the June break.

Cheslin Kolbe scored a stunning solo try and also made a couple of important tackles, while Eben Etzebeth was at his industrious best.

In a losing cause, Springbok centre Jesse Kriel led the way for the Bulls and clinched a brace of tries that helped keep the Bulls in the game.

On Friday night, the Cheetahs secured a somewhat surprising comeback win over the Kings, with Raymond Rhule producing a starring performance, while Uzair Cassiem wreaked havoc at the lineouts.

Having said that, Lionel Cronjé had another good game in the Kings’ final Super Rugby outing, while talented No 8 Andile Ntsila was as industrious as ever.

ALSO READ: Super Rugby Power Rankings (Round 17)

15. Dillyn Leyds (Stormers)
14. Cheslin Kolbe (Stormers)
13. Jesse Kriel (Bulls)
12. Harold Vorster (Lions)
11. Raymond Rhule (Cheetahs)
10. Lionel Cronjé (Kings)
9. Ross Cronjé (Lions)
8. Andile Ntsila (Kings)
7. Kwagga Smith (Lions)
6. Uzair Cassiem (Cheetahs)
5. Franco Mostert (Lions)
4. Eben Etzebeth (Stormers)
3. Coenie Oothuizen (Sharks)
2. Malcolm Marx (Lions)
1. Thomas du Toit (Sharks)

REVIEW: Lions peak, Bulls burn

15. Dillyn Leyds (Stormers)
14. Cheslin Kolbe (Stormers)
13. EW Viljoen (Stormers)
12. Jan Serfontein (Bulls)
11. Makazole Mapimpi (Kings)
10. Lionel Cronje (Kings)
9. Louis Schreuder (Kings)
8. Andile Ntsila (Kings)
7. Tyler Paul (Kings)
6. Chris Cloete (Kings)
5. Giant Ntyanda (Kings)
4. RG Snyman (Bulls)
3. Ross Geldenhuys (Kings)
2. Adriaan Strauss (Bulls)
1. Steven Kitshoff (Stormers)

Photo: Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

Lions wing Ruan Combrinck evades Raymond Rhule in the 52-31 over the Stormers

Stormers have failed to tackle key issue

The Stormers’ poor run under coach Robbie Fleck can be linked to a dire defensive record as well as a flawed overall approach, writes JON CARDINELLI.

Thomas du Toit on the rampage

Four takeaways from past weekend

What we learned from the 10th round of Super Rugby, according to CRAIG LEWIS.

Dillyn Leyds and Sbu Nkosi go for the high ball

‘Error rate in Durban was dreadful’

What former Bok coach NICK MALLETT had to say on SuperSport about the past weekend's Super Rugby matches involving South African teams.

You may also like

Get our daily email update. Subscribe to the SA Rugby magazine newsletter: