generic hexagon

Sharks finish on high note

  • 13 Jul 2013

The Sharks completed their Super Rugby campaign with a 58-13 drubbing of the Kings in Durban.

With the Kings having made 12 changes to their squad, the Sharks were always expected to dominate proceedings. And the hosts did just that by scoring 10 tries and registering 29 unanswered points in the second half.

The home side made an early statement of their willingness to run the ball, with Jean Deysel making two bulldozing runs. However, it was the Kings who opened the scoring against the run of play in the second minute when George Whitehead dotted down after Waylon Murray's intercept.

The Sharks hit back moments later, with Marcell Coetzee showing great strength to force his way over after breaking off the back of a runaway maul that had begun outside of the Kings' red zone. Bismarck du Plessis got the hosts' second in similar fashion, with the maul proving to be a force nearly impossible to stop.

After Odwa Ndungane had picked up the Sharks' third after diving on his own grubber, the Kings proved that they too could make good use of the maul, with Mpho Mbiyozo capitalising from the set piece to make it 19-13.

The visitors were dealt a blow when referee Stuart Berry awarded the Sharks a penalty try after Devin Oosthuizen disrupted a scoring opportunity illegally and the yellow card came out.

The Sharks went into the break with a 26-13 lead and they extended this with tries from Riaan Viljoen, Tendai Mtawarira and Louis Ludik.

As the teams tired, it was the Sharks who showed the better stamina, with Keegan Daniel bursting off the back of a scrum to claim a 72-minute try and debutant Fred Zeilinga bringing up the Sharks' half-century soon after. Meyer Bosman rounded out the scoring with a long-range try after the hooter.

Sharks – Tries: Marcell Coetzee, Bismarck du Plessis, Odwa Ndungane, penalty try, Riaan Viljoen, Tendai Mtawarira, Louis Ludik, Keegan Daniel, Fred Zeilinga, Meyer Bosman. Conversions: Bosman (4).
Kings – Tries: George Whitehead, Mpho Mbiyozo. Penalty: Whitehead

Sharks – 15 Odwa Ndungane, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Louis Ludik, 12 Meyer Bosman , 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Riaan Viljoen, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Keegan Daniel (c), 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Edwin Hewitt, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira,
Subs: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Jandre Marais, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Jacques Botes, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Fred Zeilinga.

Kings – 15 Siviwe Soyizwapi, 14 Hadleigh Parkes, 13 Waylon Murray, 12 Shane Gates, 11 Marcello Sampson, 10 George Whitehead, 9 Nicolas Vergallo, 8 Jacques Engelbrecht, 7 Mpho Mbiyozo, 6 Devin Oosthuizen, 5 David Bulbring, 4 Steven Sykes (c), 3 Kevin Buys, 2 Hannes Franklin, 1 Charl du Plessis.
Subs: 16 Grant Kemp, 17 Bandise Maku, 18 Darron Nell, 19 Thabo Mamojelle, 20 Aidon Davis, 21 Shaun Venter, 22 Michael Killian.

Stormers deny Bulls top spot

Brumbies' loss hands Bulls home semi

Reds to face Crusaders in play-off qualifiers

Chiefs go top with bonus-point win

Photo: Steve Haag/Gallo Images

Seabelo Senatla in SA Rugby magazine

Senatla shifts focus

Blitzboks superstar Seabelo Senatla wants to put himself in contention for Springbok selection, writes CRAIG LEWIS.

Ngani Laumape scores against the Bulls in 2017

Foreign scalps the measure of progress

The next few rounds of Super Rugby will give us a more accurate idea of where the South African teams stand in relation to their more fancied New Zealand counterparts, writes JON CARDINELLI.

Director of rugby Rassie Erasmus

Rassie’s enormous task

The Springboks’ chances at the 2019 World Cup will hinge on the changes made to the South African rugby system this season, writes JON CARDINELLI.

You may also like

Get our daily email update. Subscribe to the SA Rugby magazine newsletter: