generic hexagon

Stormers start 2014 preparations

  • 27 Nov 2013
Allister Coetzee will cut down the Stormers squad next year Allister Coetzee will cut down the Stormers squad next year

The Stormers have named a 66-man pre-season training squad.

It includes current Springboks, who will join the group in January 2014, while Schalk Burger, playing for the Barbarians in London on the weekend, and Cheslin Kolbe, on sevens duty, will join late following their respective commitments.

Flanker Siya Kolisi, hooker Scarra Ntubeni and scrumhalf Louis Schreuder, who all toured with the Boks in Europe, will join training on Monday, 2 December.

'All the players currently training at the HPC [high-performance centre] are contracted to WP Rugby. Next year the squad will be divided up into a Stormers group and a Western Province group and there will be a camp in Hermanus in mid-January for the streamlined Super Rugby training squad,' said Stormers coach Allister Coetzee.

'We look forward to welcoming talented schoolboys like JD Schickerling, Jacques Vermeulen, Rikus Bothma, Justin Phillips, Jarryd Sage, Daniel du Plessis, Grant Hermanus [who will still be at school next year] and EW Viljoen into the fold over the next two weeks and also someone like Ryno Eksteen, from the 2013 WP Rugby Institute intake, as part of our bigger, contracted core of players here at Western Province.'

The Stormers will play pre-season matches against the Bulls (1 February), Kings (7 February) and Boland (15 February) ahead of the start of Super Rugby.

The 2014 WP Rugby contracted training squad – Justin Ackerman, Justin Benn, Ruan Botha, Eital Bredenkamp, Nizaam Carr, Demetri Catrakilis, Pat Cilliers, Kurt Coleman, Stephan Coetzee, Damian de Allende, Juan de Jongh, Carel du Preez, Ryno Eksteen, Rynhardt Elstadt, Deon Fourie, Tazz Fuzani, Gerbrandt Grobler, Nic Groom, Brok Harris, Pat Howard, Josh Katzen, Oli Kebble, Freddie Kirsten, Rohan Kitshoff, Steven Kitshoff, Jean Kleyn, Siya Kolisi, Johnny Kotze, JP Lewis, Tiaan Liebenberg, Kyle Lombard, Godlen Masimla, Jean Nel, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Scarra Ntubeni, Michael Rhodes, Louis Schreuder, Sti Sithole, Rayn Smid, De Kock Steenkamp, Entienne Swanepoel, Jaco Taute, Gary van Aswegen, Chevandre van Schoor, Michael van der Spuy, Jurie van Vuuren, Kobus van Wyk, Alistair Vermaak, Mike Willemse, Devon Williams.

WP Rugby Institute players invited to squad training – Rikus Bothma, Daniel du Plessis, Grant Hermanus, Justin Phillips, Jarryd Sage, JD Schickerling, Jacques Vermeulen, EW Viljoen.

Other players (to join up at the HPC at a later stage) – Gio Aplon, Schalk Burger, Manuel Carizza, Jean de Villiers, Eben Etzebeth, Cheslin Kolbe, Frans Malherbe, Duane Vermeulen.

Photo: Alshley Vlotman/Gallo Images

The Boks pose with their World Cup bronze medals

Boks can break mould

South African rugby boasts players with the ability to lead the Boks into an innovative new era, but a change in mindset is required for this to become a reality, writes CRAIG LEWIS.

Dane Coles in SA Rugby magazine

Coles breaks the mould

Hookers are getting bigger and stronger, but the All Blacks have produced an exception to the rule in Dane Coles, who may just be the best of them all. MARC HINTON reports.

Richie McCaw holds the Webb Ellis Cup aloft

Richie ‘the great’ has done it all

Richie McCaw’s longevity, leadership and consistency have made him the greatest player of the modern era, writes CRAIG LEWIS.

You may also like
Get our daily email update. Subscribe to the SA Rugby magazine newsletter: