All Blacks rejig back three

Waisake Naholo will start on the right wing for the All Blacks in the second Test against the British & Irish Lions in Wellington on Saturday.

Israel Dagg moves to fullback to replace Ben Smith, who has been ruled out with a concussion.

Anton Lienert-Brown replaces the injured Ryan Crotty at outside centre, with new cap Ngani Laumape being rewarded with a place on the bench for his standout performance for the Hurricanes on Tuesday.

'While it’s disappointing to lose both Ben Smith and Ryan Crotty, it creates an opportunity for others. Izzy [Dagg] is a world-class back-three player, as is Anton in the midfield, and both Waisake and Ngani are coming into the Test side following outstanding performances against the Lions for their respective Super Rugby franchises.'

All Blacks – 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (c), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Joe Moody.
Subs: 16 Nathan Harris, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Scott Barrett, 20 Ardie Savea, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Aaron Cruden, 23 Ngani Laumape.

Photo: Giuseppe Maffia/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt