All-change for SA Schools

The SA Schools selectors have made wholesale changes to the side to face Wales in George on Tuesday.

South Africa got their tournament off to the perfect start with a 28-13 victory over France on Friday, while their opponents for the clash at Outeniqua Park went down narrowly to England 24-21 in their opening match.

Despite the opening day victory, SA Schools coach Hein Kriek has stated that fresh legs are required if they are to compete against a physical and well-drilled Welsh outfit.

'With three matches to play just a few days apart from each other, we have to plan very carefully, especially with a very tough last match against England in mind,' he said following the team announcement.

The only players who retained their positions from the victory over France are right wing Andell Loubser, inside centre JT Jackson and lock Eduard Zandberg. The other two players to feature on Friday are Barend Smit, who moves from outside centre to fullback and Edmund Rheeder, who takes over from the injured Jaco Coetzee at No 8.

Meanwhile, two replacements were drafted over the weekend after Morné Joubert (hamstring) and Michael Kumbirai (broken ankle) were ruled out through injury. Heino Bezuidenhout will move straight into the starting XV at outside centre, while Kenneth van Niekerk will have to wait for his opportunity.

Barend Smit, who captained the Pumas U18 side during Craven Week, will lead the SA Schools team in the absence of injured captain Jaco Coetzee.

SA Schools – 15 Barend Smit (Middelburg HTS, Pumas) (c), 14 Andell Loubser (Menlo Park HS, Blue Bulls), 13 Heino Bezuidenhout (Daniel Pienaar HTS, EP), 12 JT Jackson (Oakdale Agric, SWD), 11 Keanu Vers (Grey HS, Eastern Province), 10 Thinus de Beer (Waterkloof HS, Blue Bulls), 9 Embrose Papier (Garsfontein HS, Blue Bulls), 8 Edmund Rheeder (Klerksdorp HS, Leopards), 7 Cobus Wiese (Upington HS, Griquas Country Districts), 6 Arnold Gerber (Menlo Park HS, Blue Bulls), 5 Eduard Zandberg (Outeniqua HS, SWD), 4 Ashton Fortuin (Southdown College, Blue Bulls), 3 Sarel-Marco Smit (Eldoraigne HS, Blue Bulls), 2 Le Roux Baard (Outeniqua HS, SWD), 1 Lupumlo Mguca (Daniel Pienaar THS, Eastern Province).
Subs: 16 Jan-Henning Campher (Garsfontein HS, Blue Bulls), 17 Ngonidzashe Chidoma (Northwood HS, KwaZulu-Natal), 18 Ignatius Prinsloo (Grey College, Free State), 19 Junior Pokomela (Grey HS, Eastern Province), 20 Victor Maruping (Louis Botha THS, Free State), 21 Marko Janse van Vuuren (Transvalia HS, Valke), 22 Curwin Bosch (Grey HS, Eastern Province), 23 Nazo Nkala (Welkom Gimnasium, Griffons).

Photo: Petri Oescher/Gallo Images