April at flyhalf for Sharks

Garth April will start at 10 and JP Pietersen at 13 when the Sharks take on the Highlanders in Dunedin on Friday.

April will make his first start of the season in place of Joe Pietersen, who drops to the bench, while namesake JP replaces the injured Paul Jordaan. With Pietersen moving in from the right wing, veteran Odwa Ndungane pulls on the No 14 jersey.

In a couple of changes up front, Keegan Daniel will also make his first start of the season at openside flank, with Dan du Preez having been ruled out with injury. In the front row, Coenie Oosthuizen rotates with Lourens Adriaanse at tighthead prop.

Notably, on the bench, Chiliboy Ralepelle and Jean Deysel are set for their first appearances of the campaign.

Sharks – 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 André Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Garth April, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Beast Mtawarira (c).
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Hyron Andrews, 20 Jean Deysel, 21 Michael Claassens, 22 Joe Pietersen, 23 S'bura Sithole.

Super Rugby teams (Round 9)

Photo: Steve Haag/Gallo Images

Post by