Pumas running on full power

Argentina coach Daniel Hourcade has made 10 changes for their quarter-final against Ireland at the Millennium Stadium on Sunday.

Up front, props Marcos Ayerza and Ramiro Herrera and hooker Agustín Creevy replace the starters from the Namibia game, who all drop to the bench.

Tomas Lavanini takes over from Matias Alemanno at No 5 lock, while back rowers Leonardo Senatore and Juan Martín Fernandéz Lobbe return to the starting XV to join blindside flanker Pablo Matera.

In the backline, four changes and two positional switches were applied. Fullback Joacquin Tuculet and wings Santiago Cordera and Juan Imhoff return as the back three, while Nicolas Sanchéz wins back the No 10 jersey. 

Matias Moroni (right wing against Namibia) and Juan Martín Hernández (flyhalf) move to midfield, in place of Santiago Iglesias and Juan Socino.

Argentina – 15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Santiago Cordero, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Nicolas Sanchéz, 9 Martin Landajo, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Juan Martín Fernandéz Lobbe, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy, 1 Marcos Ayerza.
Subs: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Lucas Noguera, 18 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19 Matias Alemanno, 20 Facundo Isa, 21 Tomas Cubelli, 22 Jeronimo De La Fuente, 23 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino.

Photo: Paul Ellis/Getty Images

Post by

Mariette Adams