Baa-Baas beat Ireland

Zane Kirchner scored a try to help the Barbarians to an exciting 22-21 victory over Ireland at Thomond Park on Thursday.

Both teams scored three tries, but Robbie Deans' Baa-Baas were always a step ahead.

In true Barbarians fashion, the ball was given air and played through the hands quickly, which resulted in the opening score from Welsh wing Alex Cuthbert. Ireland responded with a try from the back of a scrum through Craig Gilroy and flyhalf Ian Madigan converted to give the hosts a two-point lead at the break.

But the moment of the match came in the second half, when Kirchner broke Ireland's defensive line, chipped over the top of the cover defence, regathered and scored. Flyhalf James Gopperth slotted the conversion and a penalty to push the Baa-Baas out to an eight-point advantage. 

And although the Six Nations champions crossed the tryline twice in the second stanza, through Chris Henry and Paddy Jackson, Cuthberth's second five-pointer after a lengthy stay inside the 22, was enough to seal victory as the Barbarians maintained their unbeaten run in Ireland.

Ireland – Tries: Craig Gilroy, Chris Henry, Paddy Jackson. Conversions: Ian Madigan (3).
Barbarians – Tries: Alex Cuthbert (2), Zane Kirchner. Conversions: James Gopperth (2). Penalty: Gopperth.

Ireland – 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Dave Kearney, 13 Colm O'Shea, 12 Luke Marshall, 11 Craig Gilroy, 10 Ian Madigan, 9 Eoin Reddan, 8 Jamie Heaslip (c), 7 Chris Henry, 6 Robbie Diack, 5 Dan Tuohy, 4 Devin Toner, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Richardt Strauss, 1 Jack McGrath
Subs: 16 Rob Herring, 17 Michael Bent, 18 Mike Ross, 19 Ben Marshall, 20 Jordi Murphy, 21 Luke McGrath, 22 Paddy Jackson, 23 Cian Kelleher.

Barbarians – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Joe Rokocoko, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 David Smith, 10 James Gopperth, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Ryu Koliniasi Holani, 7 Gerhard Vosloo, 6 Shane Jennings (c), 5 Konstantin Mikautadze, 4 Rodrigo Capo Ortega, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 Roberto Tejerizo.
Subs: 16 David Ward, 17 Saimone Taumoepeau, 18 Matias Diaz, 19 George Whitelock, 20 George Smith, 21 Tomas Cubelli, 22 Tusi Pisi, 23 Gio Aplon.

VIDEO: Zane Kirchner's chip and chase try for Barbarians


Post by

Mariette Adams