Baa-Baas whack Fiji

Akker van der Merwe and Robert du Preez starred as the Barbarians cruised to a 40-7 win over Fiji in Belfast on Friday.

The Baa-Baas were in devastating form against the Pacific Islanders, with Stormers flyhalf Du Preez marshalling the attack superbly. Lions hooker Van der Merwe also put in a good shift, showcasing an array of skills which saw him bag two tries.

Van der Merwe’s brace, coupled with a try each by New Zealanders Matt Faddes and Andy Ellis, put the Barbarians 28-0 up at the break, with du Preez slotting all four conversions.

There was some respite for the Fijians after the interval when Waisea Nayacalevu opened their account with a well-worked try. The versatile Nemani Nadolo slotted the touchline conversion, but that was as good as it got for Fiji.

Another try, by Wallaby Luke Morahan, looked to have sealed the game for the Baa-Baas, but the introduction of Ruan Pienaar led to another five-pointer for the winners. The former Bok scrumhalf released Richie Mo’unga for the last try of the game.

Barbarians – Tries: Akker van der Merwe (2), Matt Faddes, Andy Ellis, Luke Morahan, Richie Mo’unga. Conversions: Robert du Preez (5).

Fiji – Try: Waisea Nayacalevu. Conversion: Nemani Nadolo.

Barbarians – 15 Melani Nanai (Blues), 14 Matt Faddes (Highlanders), 13 Tommy Bowe (Ulster & Ireland), 12 Richard Buckman (Highlanders/Panasonic), 11 Taqele Naiyaravoro (Waratahs/Panasonic & Australia), 10 Robert du Preez (Stormers), 9 Andy Ellis (Crusaders/Kobelco & New Zealand, captain), 8 Luke Whitelock (Highlanders & New Zealand), 7 Jordan Taufua (Crusaders), 6 Brad Shields (Hurricanes), 5 Sam Carter (Brumbies & Australia), 4 Michael Fatialofa (Hurricanes), 3 Ben Franks (London Irish & New Zealand), 2 Akker van der Merwe (Lions), 1 Reggie Goodes (Hurricanes).
Subs: 16 Andrew Ready (Reds), 17 Toby Smith (Rebels & Australia), 18 Paddy Ryan (Waratahs & Australia), 19 Martin Muller (Lions), 20 Ruan Ackermann (Lions), 21 Ruan Pienaar (Ulster & South Africa), 22 Richard Mo’unga (Crusaders), 23 Luke Morahan (Force & Australia).

Fiji – 15 Benito Masilevu, 14 Waisea Nayacalevu, 13 Asaeli Tikorotuma, 12 Albert Vulivuli, 11 Nemani Nadolo, 10 Ben Volavola, 9 Serupepeli Vularika, 8 Akapusi Qera, 7 Mosese Voka, 6 Naulia Dawai, 5 Dominiko Waqaniburoto, 4 Api Ratuniyarawa, 3 Manasa Saulo, 2 Jale Sassen, 1 Campese Ma’afu.
Subs: 16 Joeli Veitayaki, 17 Sunia Koto, 18 Leroy Atalifo, 19 Nemia Soqeta, 20 Eremasi Radrodro, 21 Nemia Kenatale, 22 Metuisela Talebula, 23 Vatemo Ravouvou.

Photo: Inpho

Post by

Mariette Adams