Beast skippers Sharks

Beast Mtawarira will captain the Sharks in their Super Rugby opener against the Kings on Saturday, while Joe Pietersen is set to start at flyhalf.

The decision to appoint Mtawarira as stand-in skipper for the injured Pat Lambie is interesting, considering Ulster-bound Marcell Coetzee was named as vice-captain ahead of the tournament.

Director of rugby Gary Gold has also to opted to start Pietersen at 10 rather than Garth April, with André Esterhuizen and Paul Jordaan set to combine in the midfield.

In the pack, the Du Preez brothers Dan and Jean-Luc will start at eighthman and blindside flank respectively, while Hyron Andrews and Etienne Oosthuizen line up in the second row.

Coenie Oosthuizen will start at tighthead prop, with Franco Marais getting the nod ahead of Kyle Cooper at hooker.

Sharks – 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 André Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Joe Pietersen, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Beast Mtawarira (c).
Subs: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 David McDuling, 20 Philip van der Walt, 21 Michael Claassens, 22 Garth April, 23 S’bura Sithole.

Super Rugby teams (Round 1)

Photo: Steve Haag/Gallo Images

Post by