Big guns return for Province

John Dobson has made eight changes and one positional switch to Western Province's starting XV for Friday's semi-final against the Vodacom Blue Bulls in Pretoria.

In the backline, Cheslin Kolbe comes in at fullback, with Dillyn Leyds moving to right wing in place of Kobus van Wyk, who drops out of the match 22. Outside centre Johnny Kotze is fit again and returns to partner captain Juan de Jongh in midfield, Seabelo Senatla takes up his place on the left wing after a injury niggle and Nic Groom replaces Godlen Masimla at scrumhalf. 

Up front, flank Rynhardt Elstadt is back following a four-week injury lay-off. He comes in for Jurie van Vuuren, who joins the bench. In the second row, Jean Kleyn takes over at No 5 lock from Chris van Zyl, while in the front row Bongi Mbonambi and Steven Kitshoff trade places with Michael Willemse and Oliver Kebble at hooker and loosehead prop respectively.

Western Province – 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Dillyn Leyds, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Juan de Jongh (c) 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16 Michael Willemse, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Chris van Zyl, 19 Jurie van Vuuren, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 Huw Jones.

Photo: Anesh Debiky/Gallo Images

Post by

Mariette Adams