Blitzboks change two

Chris Dry and Justin Geduld have returned to the Springbok Sevens squad for the World Series tournaments in New Zealand and the United States.

The Wellington Sevens takes place on 6 and 7 February and will be followed by the Las Vegas Sevens from 13 to 15 February.

The Blitzboks head Pool A in Wellington where they will line up against the USA, France and Japan in the group stage, and will enter the Las Vegas tournament as the defending champions.

Dry missed out on selection for the Blitzboks for the Dubai and Port Elizabeth legs but reclaimed his place after a strong performance for the SA Sevens Academy team in Dubai and impressive showings during the series of gruelling training sessions in Stellenbosch in the last few weeks. He replaces Ruhan Nel, while Geduld steps in for Cheslin Kolbe, who has returned to the Stormers.

The rest of the squad remains unchanged following two imposing wins in Dubai and Port Elizabeth, which has placed the Springbok Sevens on top of the World Series standings with 59 points after three rounds – eight points more than the second-placed Fiji. 

The top four teams on the final World Series standings after the London Sevens in May will qualify automatically for the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio.

Springbok Sevens squad – Chris Dry, Philip Snyman, Frankie Horne, Kwagga Smith, Werner Kok, Kyle Brown (c), Branco du Preez, Rayno Benjamin, Warrick Gelant, Cecil Afrika, Seabelo Senatla, Justin Geduld.

Photo: Ben Hoskins/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt