Blitzboks clinch Wellington title

Seabelo Senatla broke the South African try-scoring record as the Blitzboks beat Fiji 26-5 to claim the Wellington Sevens title, reports JON CARDINELLI.

The Blitzboks continue to impress in the 2016-17 World Rugby Sevens Series. Following a title win in Dubai, a silver-medal performance in Cape Town and a rare tournament victory in Wellington, South Africa have taken a healthy lead at the top of the series table.

That said, the Blitzboks will cherish the most recent title win in Wellington, their first victory in the New Zealand capital since 2002. Neil Powell's charges played a balanced brand of rugby, with physical defence often proving the source of some great tries.

WATCH: 2017 Wellington Sevens Cup final (full match)

The Blitzboks showed their composure in the decider. They were on the backfoot after Joeli Lutumailagi rounded Senatla on the outside. But after Fiji conceded a yellow card in the dying stages of the first half, South Africa started to take control.

Senatla, who will soon join the Stormers in preparation for Super Rugby, certainly made one of his last appearances in Blitzboks colours count. The winger scored right before half-time and the successful conversion ensured that South Africa went to the break with a 7-5 lead.

That particular try also marked Senatla's 180th score, and saw him surpassing Fabian Juries as the most prolific try-scorer in South African sevens history. 

The momentum was with the Blitzboks in the second stanza. Rosko Speckman crossed the line to stretch the lead, and then Ruhan Nel struck twice to make certain of the result.

Blitzboks beat Canada 21-5 in semi-finals

All the Wellington Sevens results

Photo: Phil Walter/Getty Images

Post by

Jon Cardinelli