Blue Bulls whack Welwitschias

The Blue Bulls whacked the Welwitschias 92-7, while there were also wins for Western Province, the EP Kings, Free State XV, Sharks XV and Lions in round eight of the Provincial Rugby Challenge.

The Blues were second behind the Pumas in the north section standings coming into Saturday's game, but a polished performance saw them bag an 85-point win over the battling Namibian side.

Loose forwards Boom Prinsloo and Shaun Adendorff, lock Franco Naudé, scrumhalf André Warner and fullback Kefentse Mahlo all scored two tries for the hosts, who led 52-7 at the break.

Meanwhile, the Lions won their north section match against the Pumas 35-25, with centre Aphiwe Dyantyi bagging a brace. The scores were tied at 21-21 at half-time.

In central section matches, the Sharks XV thrashed the Griffons 60-10 and the Free State XV edged the Leopards 35-32. Winger Odwa Ndungane scored a hat-trick for the Sharks, and S'bura Sithole a double.

In the south section, fullback Keanu Vers' brace of tries lifted the EP Kings to a 24-21 win against the SWD Eagles, and Western Province maintained their perfect run with a 45-7 demolition of the Border Bulldogs.

Blue Bulls (92) – Tries: Boom Prinsloo (2), Franco Naude (3), Kefentse Mahlo (2), Clyde Davids, Shaun Adendorff (2), Brian Leitch, Andre Warner (2), Earll Douwrie. Conversions: Tinus de Beer (6), Joshua Stander (5).
Welwitschias (7) – Try: Nikin Cloete. Conversion: Dirk van Weidts.

Golden Lions XV (35) – Tries: Aphiwe Dyantyi (2), Shaun Reynolds, Jano Venter, Fabian Booysen. Conversions: Reynolds (5).

Pumas (25) – Tries: Marko Janse van Rensburg, Jean-Paul Lewis, Ryan Nell, Frank Herne. Conversion: Sias Ebersohn. Penalty: Ebersohn.

Sharks XV (60) – Tries: S’bura Sithole (2), Odwa Ndungane (3), Khaya Majola, Marius Louw, Courtney Winnaar, Tristan Blewett. Conversions: Benhard Janse van Rensburg (3), Danrich Visagie (3). Penalty: Benhard Janse van Rensburg.

Griffons (10) – Try: Jasper Wiese. Conversion: Duan Pretorius. Penalty: Duan Pretorius.

Free State XV (35) – Tries: Joseph Dweba, Stephan Janse van Rensburg, Jacobus Jonker, Marco Mason. Conversions: Mason (3). Penalties: Mason (3).

Leopards (32) – Tries: Gideon van der Merwe (3), Henko Marais. Conversions: Gerhard Nortier (2), Schalk Hugo. Penalties: Nortier (2).

EP Kings (24) – Tries: Tango Balekile, Keanu Vers (2), Chris Heiberg. Conversions: Pieter-Steyn de Wet (2).

SWD Eagles (21) – Tries: Johnny Welthagen, Thor Halvorsen, Marlo Weich. Conversions: Leighton Eksteen (3).

Western Province (45) – Tries: Craig Barry, Dean Muir, Brendan Esterhuizen, Johan du Toit, Jaco Coetzee, Grant Hermanus. Conversions: Brandon Thompson (6). Penalty: Thompson.

Border Bulldogs (7) – Try: Oliver Zono. Conversion: Zono.

Photo: Lee Warren/Gallo Images

Post by

Mariette Adams