Bok centre to make Stormers return against B&I Lions

The Stormers have been boosted by the return of a couple of experienced players for their encounter with the British & Irish Lions at Cape Town Stadium on Saturday.

The Stormers face the tourists in their last game before the Tests against the Springboks, with kick-off at 6pm on Saturday.

Former SA Schools and Junior Springbok captain and current Western Province skipper Van Rhyn will lead the Stormers out for the first time on Saturday.

Van Rhyn will be partnered in the second row by JD Schickerling, backing up a front row which features Neethling Fouche, JJ Kotze and Leon Lyons.

The loose trio will see Nama Xaba and Johan du Toit pack down on the flanks, with Evan Roos at No 8.

Godlen Masimla and Tim Swiel form a relatively experienced halfback pairing, with Dan du Plessis and Rikus Pretorius in midfield.

There is plenty of pace to burn among the outside backs, with Seabelo Senatla, Edwill van der Merwe and Sergeal Petersen making up a speedy back three.

The Stormers have also been boosted by the presence of Springbok centre Juan de Jongh, who will play from the bench on Saturday. De Jongh, who returned to the Stormers from Wasps, will earn his 98th cap for the team when he takes to the field.

Stormers head coach John Dobson said that his team is well-aware of the honour of having the opportunity to face the British and Irish Lions.

“Any match against the British and Irish Lions is a historic occasion and we will be doing everything we can to do justice to the magnitude of this game.

“The team has been highly disciplined in our bubble this week and now it is about doing everything we can on the field for 80 minutes,” he said.

Stormers – 15 Sergeal Petersen, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 Rikus Pretorius, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Tim Swiel, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Johan du Toit, 6 Nama Xaba, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Ernst van Rhyn (captain), 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 JJ Kotze, 1 Leon Lyons.
Subs (from): 16 Andre-Hugo Venter, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Justin Basson, 20 Marcel Theunissen, 21 Thomas Bursey, 22 Abner van Reenen, 23 Juan de Jongh, 24 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 25 Niel Otto, 26 Leolin Zas, 27 Cornel Smit.

Photo: Ziyaad Douglas/Gallo Images

Post by

Dylan Jack