Bonus-point change for Championship

The Rugby Championship will adopt the same bonus-point system used in Super Rugby.

Sanzaar confirmed on Thursday that the old four-try bonus point will be scrapped and replaced by the new system which sees teams rewarded with a bonus point for scoring three or more tries than the opposition. As in Super Rugby, the bonus point received for losing by seven or fewer points will remain in place.

‘The Sanzaar Exco reviewed the bonus-point system implemented into Super Rugby this year and believed it had a significant impact in rewarding the more dominant teams, created a competition for the full 80 minutes and is providing a reward system that recognises both attack and defence,’ said Sanzaar CEO Andy Marinos.

‘Having witnessed some of the most exciting and complete 80-minute games in the history of the competition this season, spurred on by the introduction of the new bonus-point system, we believe that across the Sanzaar tournaments, for the sake of the players, broadcasters and the fans, we should have consistency in terms of the tournament points system.'

Two of this year’s matches will be played at new venues with the Springboks hosting Argentina at the Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit in round one, while Argentina will play Australia at Twickenham, a nominated home match for Los Pumas, in round six.

Photo: Cameron Spencer/Getty Images