Bowden at 10 for Blues

Daniel Bowden has replaced Ihaia West at flyhalf for the Blues' match against the Waratahs in Sydney on Saturday.

Bowden will make his first Vodacom Super Rugby appearance of the season having recently returned to New Zealand from a four-year stint in Japan and the UK. 

In other changes, captain Jerome Kaino returns after missing the defeat to the Hurricanes due to a concussion, which sees Steven Luatua moving to blindside flank and Brendan O'Connor to openside. Hayden Triggs replaces the injured Josh Bekhuis in the second row.

In the backline, Charles Piutau moves from outside centre to fullback, with George Moala back in the No 13 jersey.

Meanwhile, the Waratahs have named an unchanged starting XV for the match.

Blues – 15 Charles Piutau, 14 Frank Halai, 13 George Moala, 12 Francis Saili, 11 Melani Nanai, 10 Dan Bowden, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Jerome Kaino (c), 7 Brendon O'Connor, 6 Steven Luatua, 5 Patrick Tuipulotu, 4 Hayden Triggs, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 James Parsons, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Ofa Tu'ungafasi/Sam Prattley, 18 Angus Ta'avao, 19 Culum Retallick, 20 Luke Braid, 21 Jamison Gibson-Park, 22 Simon Hickey, 23 Pita Ahki.

Waratahs – 15 Israel Folau, 14 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 13 Matt Carraro, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Jacques Potgieter, 5 David Dennis (c), 4 Will Skelton, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tolu Latu, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs (two to be ommitted): 16 Hugh Roach, 17 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 18 Jeremy Tilse, 19 Paddy Ryan, 20 Sam Lousi, 21 Mitchell Chapman, 22 Stephen Hoiles, 23 Brendan McKibbin, 24 Jono Lance, 25 Peter Betham.

Super Rugby teams (Round 7)

Photo: Phil Walter/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt