Brumbies name strong lineup

Brumbies coach Dan McKellar has selected an all-Wallabies front row for his side’s opening Super Rugby AU match against the Rebels in Canberra on Saturday.

James Slipper will start at loosehead prop ahead of Scott Sio, combining with Folau Fainga’a and Allan Alaalatoa in the front row.

Darcy Swain will team up with Murray Douglas in the second row for the first time in 2020 while  Pete Samu forms the loose trio with flanks Tom Cusack and Rob Valentini. Locky McCaffrey and Will Miller will provide cover from the bench.

Rookie Mack Hansen is set to start at fullback in the absence of Tom Banks, who  still battling a foot injury. Hansen featured for the Brumbies against the Waratahs but played just four minutes off the bench.

A minor ankle injury has also ruled out Ryan Lonergan from Saturday’s clash, opening the door for Issak Fines to make his Brumbies debut off the bench.

Brumbies – 15 Mack Hansen, 14 Andy Muirhead, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Tom Wright, 10 Noah Lolesio, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Pete Samu, 7 Tom Cusack, 6 Rob Valentini, 5 Murray Douglas, 4 Darcy Swain, 3 Allan Alaalatoa (c), 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 James Slipper.
Subs: 16 Connal McInerney, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Tom Ross, 19 Lachlan McCaffrey, 20 Will Miller, 21 Issak Fines, 22 Bayley Kuenzle, 23 Len Ikitau.

Photo: Getty Images

Post by

Mariette Adams