Brummer starts for Bulls

The Bulls have made four changes to their starting lineup to face the Stormers in Pretoria on Saturday.

Coach Nollis Marais named Travis Ismaiel, Francois Brummer, Piet van Zyl and Arno Botha in the run-on XV, with Grant Hattingh fit again and included on the bench.

Ismaiel and Botha replace Bjorn Basson and Hanro Liebenberg respectively, while Van Zyl and Brummer will form a new halfback pairing as Tian Schoeman and Rudy Paige drop to the bench.

The Bulls also confirmed the signing of Jacques Potgieter from the Sharks on a two-year deal, while Jacobie Adriaanse will join from the Kings after this season.

'Jacques is two weeks away from returning to the field and is doing his final rehabilitation,' Bulls high performance manager Xander Janse van Rensburg said. 'It is great to have him back in the Bulls family. He will bring massive energy, physicality and go-forward to the team.

'We have also signed Jacobie Adriaanse until October 2018,' he added. 'Quality tightheads are in high demand and we are pretty pleased to get someone with the experience and quality of Jacobie to join us.'

Potgieter said he was pleased to be returning to the Bulls.

'I got my break in Super Rugby here at the Bulls and earned my Springbok caps as a Bulls player. That is something I will never forget and I am keen to get back to that form and repay the faith the Bulls have put in me as a player. There is something special about the Bulls and I immediately felt at home. Now I can't wait to go out there and play for the team again.'

The Bulls also announced that loose forward Nic de Jager has signed an extension until the end of October 2017.

Bulls – 15 SP Marais, 14 Jamba Ulengo, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Travis Ismaiel, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Arno Botha, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Lappies Labuschagne, 5 RG Snyman, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Lizo Gqoboka.
Subs: 16 Jaco Visagie, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Pierre Schoeman, 19 Grant Hattingh, 20 Deon Stegmann, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Tian Schoeman, 23 Dries Swanepoel.

Super Rugby teams (Round 13)

Photo: Johan Rynners/Gallo Images

Post by

Craig Lewis