Bulls stick with Matfield

The Bulls have named an unchanged starting line-up for their clash with the Waratahs in Sydney on Saturday.

Victor Matfield is set to start the match at No 5. It was initially hoped that Matfield would be rested for the duration of the Bulls' tour to Australasia, but injuries to senior players have forced coach Frans Ludeke's hand. The fact that the Bulls desperately need a win has also factored into Matfield's selection for the clash against the Waratahs.

Captain Flip van der Merwe has recovered from a bicep injury, and will continue to partner Matfield in the second row.

The only change to the matchday squad is the inclusion of scrumhalf Rudy Paige on the bench.

Bulls – 15 Jürgen Visser, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Grant Hattingh, 7 Jacques du Plessis, 6 Jono Ross, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Flip van der Merwe (c), 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Mbongeni Mbonambi, 17 Marcel van der Merwe, 18 Paul Willemse, 19 Jacques Engelbrecht, 20 William Small-Smith, 21 Handré Pollard, 22 Rudy Paige, 23 Morné Mellett.

Photo: Barry Aldworth/BackpagePix

Post by

Jon Cardinelli