Bulls tame young Lions

The Bulls secured a comfortable 38-17 win over the Lions in their first Super Rugby warm-up game in Harare on Saturday.

With the Lions having sent a youthful squad to Zimbabwe, the Bulls had very little trouble in claiming an emphatic result.

The Bulls led 21-10 at half-time after Renaldo Bothman and Nick de Jager dotted down in addition to a penalty try being awarded.

In the second half, Jamba Ulengo, Hanro Liebenberg and Shaun Adendorff all added their names to the try-scoring tally as the Pretoria-based side came away with the desired result.

The Bulls are set to kick off their Super Rugby campaign against the Stormers on 25 February, while the Lions will get their season underway with a clash against the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein on the same day.

Bulls – penalty try, Renaldo Bothma, Nick de Jager, Jamba Ulengo, Hanro Liebenberg, Shaun Adendorff. Conversions: Tony Jantjies (3), Tian Schoeman.
Lions – TBC

Bulls – 15 Manie Libbok, 14 Luther Obi, 13 Johnny Kôtze, 12 JT Jackson, 11 Rabs Maxwane, 10 Tony Jantjies, 9 Andre Warner, 8 Renaldo Botha, 7 Hendre Stassen, 6 Nick de Jager (c), 5 Abongile Nonkontwana, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Edgar Marutlulle, 1 Lizo Gqoboka.
Subs: 16 Francois Brummer, 17 Franco Naude, 18 Pierre Schoeman, 19 Corniel Els, 20 Coenraad van Vuuren, 21 RG Snyman, 22 Shaun Adendorff, 23 Hanro Liebenberg, 24 Ivan van Zyl, 25 Tian Schoeman, 26 Burger Odendaal, 27 Dries Swanepoel, 28 Jamba Ulengo, 29 Stade Stiglingh, 30 Warrick Gelant.

Lions squad – Le Roux Baard, Ruan Brits, Jean-Luc Cilliers, Ashlon Davids, Bobby de Wee, Hacjivah Dyamani, JP du Preez, Dean Gordon, Wiehan Jacobs, Marco Janse van Vuren, Pieter Jansen, Kyle Kruger, Gerrie Labuschagne, Jan-Louis Le Grange, Koch Marx, Siya Masuku, Stean Pienaar, Jarryd Sage, Pieter Scholtz, Victor Sekekete, Bheki Shongwe, Sthi Sithole, Adré Smit, Wayne van der Bank, Morne van den Berg, Gerdus van der Walt, Jano Venter, Jaco Willemse.

Photo: Richard Huggard/Gallo Images

Post by

Craig Lewis