Bulls thump Griquas

The Vodacom Blue Bulls scored six tries in their resounding 46-32 win against Griquas in Kimberley on Saturday. JON CARDINELLI reports.

Griquas dominated the first quarter, and led 11-3 at one stage. The Bulls responded with 28 unanswered points and scored the four-try bonus point before half-time.

The forwards provided the platform, and the Bulls backs showed good power and skill to make inroads into the Griquas defence. The finishing by Travis Ismaiel, Jamba Ulengo, and on two separate occasions, by Dries Swanepoel was excellent. The Bulls went into the break with a commanding 31-11 lead.

Griquas fought back at the start of the second stanza to score tries through Carel Greef and AJ le Roux. Riaan Viljoen scored the fourth try in the 73rd minute to bring the hosts back into the contest, and secure a bonus point.

But a late try by Louis Fouché ensured that the Bulls claimed the five log points. They remain unbeaten in this year's Currie Cup after four rounds.

Griquas – Tries: Ntabeni Dukisa, Carel Greef, AJ le Roux, Riaan Viljoen. Conversions: Dukisa, Clinton Swart (2). Penalties: Dukisa (2).
Blue Bulls – Tries: Travis Ismaiel, Jamba Ulengo (2), Dries Swanepoel (2), Louis Fouché. Conversions: Tian Schoeman (5). Penalties: Schoeman (2).

Griquas – 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Sandile Ngcobo, 13 Michael van der Spuy, 12 Clinton Swart, 11 Ntabeni Dukisa, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Tian Meyer (c), 8 RL Liebenberg, 7 Jonathan Adendorf, 6 Johan Wessels, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Jaco Nepgen, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 AJ le Roux, 1 Steph Roberts.
Subs: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Lux Koza, 18 Hilton Lobberts, 19 Carel Greeff, 20 Rudi van Rooyen, 21 Jonathan Francke, 22 Ruhan Nel.

Blue Bulls – 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Arno Botha, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Lappies Labuschagne (c), 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Jacques du Plessis, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Corniel Els, 17 Dayan van der Westhuizen, 18 RG Snyman, 19 Nick de Jager, 20 André Warner, 21 Louis Fouché, 22 Dan Kriel.

Photo: Johan Rynners/Gallo Images

Post by

Jon Cardinelli