Canes axe curfew breakers

Five players have been dropped from the Hurricanes team to face the Reds in Wellington on Saturday after missing curfew in South Africa last week.

Cory Jane, Victor Vito, Chris Eves, and Julian and Ardie Savea arrived back at their hotel late on Tuesday night in the buildup to their 32-15 loss to the Sharks, breaking the team's self-imposed curfew by 18 minutes. 

'Though some people may not see staying out late as being particularly serious, the team set their standards very high this year and everyone bought into that at the start of the season,' coach Chris Boyd said. 'We have a great bunch of guys in the squad and this was an isolated incident, but there are certain lines in the sand and when those lines are crossed there are consequences.'

The players will be available for selection again in two weeks' time when the Hurricanes take on the Highlanders after a bye. 

Hurricanes – 15 James Marshall, 14 Jason Woodward, 13 Matt Proctor, 12 Vince Aso, 11 Wes Goosen, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara (c), 8 Blade Thomson, 7 Callum Gibbins, 6 Brad Shields, 5 Michael Fatialofa, 4 Vaea Fifita, 3 Jeff To'omaga-Allen, 2 Dane Coles (c), 1 Reg Goodes.
Subs: 16 Motu Matu'u, 17 Loni Uhila, 18 Ben May, 19 Mark Abbott, 20 Tony Lamborn, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Ngani Laumape, 23 Willis Halaholo.

Super Rugby teams (Round 12)

Photo: Scott Barbour/Getty Images