Bulls boss Jake White named Carr as captain, tasking the experienced Springbok with not only leading the team but also the multi-talented forward pack.

Hooker Joe van Zyl and prop Gerhard Steenekamp, who were used throughout Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked and the Currie Cup, both earned a place in the starting lineup, while the selection of lock Janko Swanepoel will ensure he continues to gain valuable game time.

The only new face amongst the backs is recently signed wing Madosh Tambwe who will feature in his first game for Bulls, with the impressive Stravino Jacobs playing on the opposite wing. Meanwhile Embrose Papier and Chris Smith will continue their halfback partnership.

Prop Jan-Hendrik Wessels will provide front row cover off the bench, with Raynard Roets and Uzile Tele serving as back-up lock and flank respectively.

Keagan Johannes and Diego Appollis are the backline cover.

‘Upping the players’ game time is central to our approach during our preparation series and our team for Sunday emulates that,’ White said.

‘These guys have toiled under the hot sun biding their time and their opportunity has now come. We know what they can produce and we are looking forward to how they seize their chances.’

*Kick-off is at 3pm and the match will be televised on the SuperSport Grandstand and Rugby channels.

Bulls – 15 Richard Kriel, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 Marnus Potgieter, 12 Marco Jansen van Vuren, 11 Stravino Jacobs, 10 Chris Smith, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 WJ Steenkamp, 7 Tim Agaba, 6 Nizaam Carr (c), 5 Janko Swanepoel, 4 Jan Uys, 3 Mornay Smith, 2 Joe van Zyl, 1 Gerhard Steenekamp.
Subs: 16 Janco Uys, 17 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 18 Gerhard van der Merwe, 19 Raynard Roets, 20 Uzile Tele, 21 Keagan Johannes, 22 Jandre Burger, 23 Diego Appollis, 24 Reinhardt Ludwig, 25 Werner Gouws, 26 Dawid Kellerman.

ALSO READ: What’s in our latest issue?

Subscribe here

Photo: Gallo Images