Cheetahs give Bok duo a break

Willie le Roux and Coenie Oosthuizen will not play for the Cheetahs against the Chiefs in Hamilton on Saturday.

The Bok duo have featured in five consecutive matches this season and are therefore being rested as per Saru's request, along with Francois Venter.

Six players who were on the bench against the Crusaders last weekend – Michael van der Spuy, Shaun Venter, Steven Sykes, Maks van Dyk, Stephan Coetzee and BG Uys – have moved into the starting lineup.

In positional changes, Clayton Blommetjies shifts from right wing to fullback as Cornal Hendricks returns. With Oupa Mohoje having been sent home after suffering a groin injury that will rule him out for eight to 12 weeks, Jean Cook shifts to blindside flank and Boom Prinsloo to No 8.

Scrumhalf Sarel Pretorius will join the team on Sunday in Sydney after the birth of his second son on Tuesday. 

Cheetahs – 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Joe Pietersen, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Boom Prinsloo, 7 Jean Cook, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Francois Uys (c), 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Maks van Dyk, 2 Stephan Coetzee, 1 BG Uys.
Subs: 16 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Danie Mienie, 19 Carl Wegner, 20 Willie Britz, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 Willie du Plessis, 23 Rayno Benjamin.

Super Rugby teams (Round 7)

Photo: Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix