Cheika backs rookies for opener

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has named three uncapped players in his starting XV for the first Test against England in Brisbane on Saturday.

They are Brumbies lock Rory Arnold, Reds centre Samu Kerevi and Force utility back Dane Haylett-Petty. Another Test rookie, Reds scrumhalf Nick Frisby, is on the bench.

Christian Leali'ifano, who only landed in Brisbane on Wednesday night after the birth of his child, is also among the substitutes, with Kerevi and Tevita Kuridrani in the midfield, and Israel Folau at fullback.

Wallabies – 15 Israel Folau, 14 Dane Haylett-Petty, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Samu Kerevi, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 David Pocock, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Scott Sio.
Subs: 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 James Slipper, 18 Sekope Kepu, 19 James Horwill, 20 Dean Mumm, 21 Sean McMahon, 22 Nick Frisby, 23 Christian Leali'ifano.

Photo: Chris Hyde/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt