Chiefs ring changes for Stormers

The Chiefs have made seven changes to their team to play the Stormers in Hamilton on Friday.

Gareth Anscombe makes his long awaited return at fullback in his first match of the season while Jamie Mackintosh returns to the starting line-up at loosehead prop in what will be the Chiefs' last home game before heading offshore for three weeks.

Brodie Retallick has been cleared to play and is joined in the second row by Matt Symons.

Liam Messam resumes his position at No 6 flank with Liam Squire starting in the No 8 jersey after a solid performance off the bench last week.

James Lowe gets his first start on the wing and former Crusader Tom Marshall will make his Chiefs debut at inside centre.

Pauliasi Manu, Michael Fitzgerald, Robbie Fruean and Asaeli Tikoirotuma all move to the bench.

Tanerau Latimer will win his 100th Super Rugby cap.

Chiefs – 15 Gareth Anscombe, 14 Tim Nanai-Williams, 13 Charlie Ngatai, 12 Tom Marshall, 11 James Lowe, 10 Aaron Cruden (c), 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Liam Squire, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Matt Symons, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Mahonri Schwalger, 1 Jamie Mackintosh.
Subs: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Pauliasi Manu, 18 Josh Hohneck, 19 Michael Fitzgerald, 20 Tevita Koloamatangi, 21 Brad Webber, 22 Robbie Fruean, 23 Asaeli Tikoirotuma.

Super Rugby teams (Round 5)

Photo: Scott Barbour/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt