Combrinck wings it for Boks

Ruan Combrinck has replaced Lwazi Mvovo in the Springbok starting lineup for Saturday's deciding Test against Ireland in Port Elizabeth.

Combrinck made his Test debut last Saturday when he came on for Mvovo in the 41st minute of the second Test at Ellis Park. The Lions wing scored a 56th-minute try that sparked the Boks' comeback and went on to be named Man of the Match.

Combrinck's elevation to start on the right wing sees JP Pietersen shift to the left wing, while Mvovo drops to the bench.

In the only other change to the starting XV that beat Ireland 32-26, Warren Whiteley replaces the injured Duane Vermeulen at No 8.

Lions flank Jaco Kriel could make his long-awaited Test debut, having taken Whiteley's place on the bench, as could Bordeaux loosehead prop Steven Kitshoff, who comes in for the injured Trevor Nyakane.

Julian Redelinghuys was another Lion who made a big impact as a substitute last weekend, but he remains on the bench with Frans Malherbe retaining the No 3 jersey.

'It will be another huge battle between the sides on Saturday,' said Bok coach Allister Coetzee. 'Both sides have suffered injuries before and during the series, but that it is part of the game and it again provides opportunities for others to come in and stake their claim.

'Jaco has been close to selection every time and he now gets his chance in the match day squad. Steven has worked extremely hard since we got together as a team and he also has an opportunity to show his promise should he take to the field.

'We know what is at stake on Saturday – it’s a matter of winner takes all scenario. This group of players will continue to grow together as a team and Saturday they have the opportunity to gain more experience by playing together.'

Springboks – 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Julian Redelinghuys, 19 Franco Mostert, 20 Jaco Kriel, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Morné Steyn, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.

Ireland team

Photo: BackpagePix

Post by

Simon Borchardt