Cooke to lead Kings

Ronnie Cooke will captain the EP Kings in their final Currie Cup match against Western Province at Newlands on Friday.

Regular captains Tim Whitehead, who Cooke replaces in midfield, and Steven Sykes are both out with injury.

Cooke will operate from the outside centre position, with JP du Plessis moving to inside centre.

There are also injury concerns over lock Stefan Willemse and wing Luther Obi. Both have been bracketed with Tazz Fuzani and Siviwe Soyizwapi, respectively.

Kings coach Brent Janse van Rensburg, however, says he is confident the pair would be ready for the encounter.

EP Kings – 15 Scott van Breda, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 Ronnie Cooke (c), 12 JP du Plessis, 11 Luther Obi/Siviwe Soyizwapi, 10 Elgar Watts, 9 Enrico Acker, 8 Tim Agaba, 7 Jacques Engelbrecht, 6 Thembelani Bholi, 5 Cornel Hess, 4 Stefan Willemse/Tazz Fuzani, 3 Simon Kerrod, 2 Edgar Marutlulle, 1 Lizo Gqoboka.
Subs: 16 Martin Ferreira, 17 Schalk Ferreira, 18 Basil Short, 19 David Bulbring, 20 Paul Schoeman, 21 Dwayne Kelly, 22 Karlo Aspeling.

Photo: Duif du Toit/Gallo Images

Post by

Mariette Adams