Cooper dropped from Wallabies squad

Quade Cooper and Scott Higginbotham have been left out of the Wallabies' 38-man training squad.

Only players from the Force, Rebels, Reds and Waratahs were included, with the Brumbies set to play the Hurricanes in Canberra on Friday.

Utility back Kurtley Beale has been called up to the Wallabies for the first time since the 2015 World Cup, but flyhalf Cooper (70 Tests) and No 8 Higginbotham (34 Tests) were excluded.

'From a form perspective in Super Rugby, I don't think his form has been brilliant,' said Wallabies coach Michael Cheika when asked about Cooper's omission. 'With us, it's a little different because I haven't given him a lot of minutes.

'It was difficult for me because I've got a good relationship with him. I feel I was pretty instrumental in him coming back, so it was a big call for me. He was obviously very disappointed and you want him to be.

'I've had a long talk with him yesterday. One of the big things for him is to look like he's enjoying his footy and getting out there and really being a competitor for that 10 jersey.

'We've had a talk about the reasons. A lot of that is trying to get him back into a space where he can be that player that's going to get us around the park and do the stuff we want him to do.'

The new faces in the squad are Jermaine Ainsley, Sef Fa'agase, Adam Korczyk, Izack Rodda, Taniela Tupou, Jordan Uelese, Marika Koroibete, Campbell Magnay, Billy Meakes, Izaia Perese and Curtis Rona.

Wallabies training squad – Jermaine Ainsley, Adam Coleman, Pek Cowan, Jack Dempsey, Kane Douglas, Sef Fa'agase, Tetera Faulkner, Ned Hanigan, Richard Hardwick, Michael Hooper, Sekope Kepu, Adam Korczyk, Tolu Latu, Sean McMahon, Stephen Moore (capt), Tatafu Polota-Nau, Tom Robertson, Izack Rodda, Rob Simmons, Lopeti Timani, Taniela Tupou, Jordan Uelese. Backs: Kurtley Beale, Israel Folau, Bernard Foley, Will Genia, Dane Haylett-Petty, Reece Hodge, Karmichael Hunt, Samu Kerevi, Marika Koroibete, Campbell Magnay, Billy Meakes, Eto Nabuli, Sefa Naivalu, Izaia Perese, Nick Phipps, Curtis Rona.

Photo: Joe Allison/BackpagePix

Post by

Simon Borchardt