CPUT retain Varsity Shield title after dramatic final

CPUT scored a try in the last minute of extra time to beat WSU 30-26 in the Varsity Shield final at Tuks Stadium this past Sunday evening.

WSU had bravely fought their way back from a 23-6 deficit to draw level at 23-23 in the 66th minute of the match. The All Blacks captain, Litha Nkula, had two opportunities to win it for his side, but missed his penalty attempts, with the final then progressing to extra time.

In a tightly contested first period, Nkula nudged his side ahead with a penalty, but in the closing stages of the second period, CPUT launched an attack from a lineout, spreading the ball to wing Nathan Nkutu, who wrote himself into folklore by outsprinting the cover defence to score a 99th-minute try.

The try sparked delirious scenes of celebration on the CPUT bench, while Nkutu was flooded by his teammates, showing just how much winning the title meant to them.

Feghon-Leigh Snyders, another try-scorer for the Cape university, slotted the conversion after the hooter had sounded with CPUT successfully defending the title they had won in 2019, after the 2020 tournament was called off due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

For his contribution, Nkutu was named as the Player That Rocks (man of the match).

CPUT – Tries: Asisipho Malotana, Mogamat Ameer Hendricks, Feghon-Leigh Snyders, Nathan Nkutu. Conversions: Snyders .(2). Penalty: Snyders. Drop goal: Snyders.
WSU All Blacks – Tries: Sakhele Ngeno, Eric Mcaphukana. Conversions: Litha Nkula (2). Penalties: Nkula (4).

CPUT – 15 Raven Chester Smith, 14 Asisipho Malotana, 13 Jurick Lewis, 12 Lunathi Nxele, 11 Nathan Nkutu, 10 Feghon-Leigh Snyders, 9 Hugan Engelbrecht, 8 Sesona Macala, 7 Ché Klaasen, 6 Butsha Mputa (c), 5 Roland van der Heever, 4 Mogamat Ameer Hendricks, 3 Matthew Coenraad, 2 Siyasanga Ngubelanga, 1 Dé-Angelo Williams.
Subs: 16 Damian Isaacs, 17 Onika Mgijima, 18 Jacques-Lynn Josephus, 19 Bradley van Boven, 20 Phumlani Mkhaliphi, 21 Cuan Maree, 22 Bjorkan Hendricks, 23 Imibongo Vabaza.

WSU All Blacks – 15 Litha Nkula (c), 14 Sakhele Ngeno, 13 Sicelo Tole, 12 Thembani Kori, 11 Tebogo Madigoe, 10 Lwandile Mapuko, 9 Eric Mcaphukana, 8 Adri Kermis, 7 Ayabulela Zono, 6 Siphosihle Magawu, 5 Hlomla Payi, 4 Asekho Marubelela, 3 Siyasanga Dingezweni, 2 Zanokuhle Nkabi, 1 Xolani Jacobs.
Subs: 16 Nande Lucas, 17 Lindokuhle Seteni, 18 Miyelani Ngobeni, 19 Khanya Solani, 20 Lithemba Ngcetane, 21 Lisolethu Valisi, 22 Asivile Ngcawe, 23 S’bulelo Roji.

Photo: Christiaan Kotze/Varsity Cup

Post by

Dylan Jack