De Allende wins big at WP Awards

Damian de Allende was named Western Province Players' Player of the Year and Best Back of the Year at the union's awards evening on Tuesday.

France-bound loosehead prop Steven Kitshoff was voted the WP Forward of the Year, after a brilliant Vodacom Super Rugby campaign catapulted him into Springbok contention, with hooker Bongi Mbonambi (Most Promising Senior Forward) and utility back Dillyn Leyds (Most Promising Senior Back) also being rewarded for their consistent performances in 2015.

Scrumhalf Nic Groom, who took over the Currie Cup captaincy at one point this season, walked away with the MVP Award, previous winners being Deon Fourie (2012), Duane Vermeulen (2013) and Nizaam Carr (2014).

At junior level, WP U19 stars, Michael Kumbirai (Best Forward), Eduan Keyter (Best Back) and Duncan Saal (Most Promising), all won awards, while Frans van Wyk (Best Forward), Ryno Eksteen (Best Back) and Leolin Zas (Most Promising) were the big winners in the U21 age group.

Photo: Peter Parks/AFP Photo

Post by

Simon Borchardt