Double blow for Chiefs

Sonny Bill Williams and James Lowe being ruled out of the Chiefs showdown with the Hurricanes in Wellington on Saturday.

The two backline stars had initially been named among the starting XV, but have since been withdrawn through injury.

Williams is suffering with a back strain, while Lowe has not recovered from a shoulder knock he has been suffering with for the last fortnight.

New Zealand U20 utility Anton Lienert-Brown will replace Williams and Bryce Heem will move onto the left wing, with Marty McKenzie coming onto the bench.

Chiefs – 15 Tom Marshall, 14 Hosea Gear, 13 Charlie Ngatai, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Bryce Heem, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Michael Leitch, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Messam (c), 5 Michael Fitzgerald, 4 Michael Allardice, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Pauliasi Manu.
Subs: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Siate Tokolahi, 18 Mitchell Graham, 19 Liam Squire, 20 Maama Vaipulu, 21 Augustine Pulu, 22 Andrew Horrell, 23 Marty McKenzie.

Super Rugby teams (Round 14)

Photo: Phil Walter/Getty Images