England newbies to face Boks

Six uncapped players have been named in Eddie Jones's England squad for the end-of-year Tests against South Africa, Fiji, Argentina and Australia.

The 33 players will fly to Portugal on 30 October for a week of specific training, before returning to England’s base at Pennyhill Park to prepare for the opening game against the Boks at Twickenham on 12 November.

With 10 players unavailable through injury, Jones has included uncapped Kyle Sinckler, Nathan Hughes, Charlie Ewels, Mike Haley, Alex Lozowski and Ben Te’o.

After recovering from a lengthy injury, wing Jonny May returns to the England set-up, as do back-rowers Ben Morgan, Tom Wood and lock Dave Attwood.

'With a number of influential players missing through injury we have two weeks to prepare a robust and resilient team to meet the challenges set for us,' Jones commented.

'Our training camp in Portugal is a great opportunity to spend a week together, focus on putting our game plans in place and for new players to understand the England way.

'We’re looking forward to being back in front of a passionate Twickenham crowd and I’m confident we can prepare well and put together a match-day 23 which is full of pride, energy and commitment to give South Africa the game of their lives.'

England squad
Forwards: Dave Attwood, Dan Cole, Charlie Ewels, Ellis Genge, Jamie George, Teimana Harrison, Dylan Hartley, Nathan Hughes, Joe Launchbury, Courtney Lawes, Joe Marler, Ben Morgan, Chris Robshaw, Kyle Sinckler, Tommy Taylor, Billy Vunipola, Mako Vunipola, Tom Wood.
Backs: Mike Brown, Danny Care, Elliot Daly, Owen Farrell, George Ford, Alex Goode, Mike Haley, Jonathan Joseph, Alex Lozowski, Jonny May, Semesa Rokoduguni, Henry Slade, Ben Te’o, Marland Yarde, Ben Youngs.
Injured players not considered: Jack Clifford, Luke Cowan-Dickie, James Haskell, Maro Itoje, Sam Jones, George Kruis, Jack Nowell, Manu Tuilagi, Anthony Watson, Mike Williams.
Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images

Post by