England stun SA Schools

The SA Schools team suffered their first defeat in four years when England beat them 30-22 in Stellenbosch on Saturday.

England, who beat France 28-13 in round two of the series, dominated territory and possession in the opening 25 minutes. Wing Roti Segan sprinted clear for the first try of the match after scrumhalf Will Homer spread the ball wide. Moments later, lock Joe Batley scored in similar fashion for England, after Homer spotted the overlap on the outside.

Fullback Curwin Bosch pulled three points back for SA Schools with a penalty, reducing the gap to 11 points.

England, though, were relentless on attack and again breached the home side’s defensive line when outside centre Max Clarke forced his way through two tacklers for their third.

SA Schools regrouped late in the first stanza and began to pile pressure on England. Wing Keano Vers got the vital breakthrough just before the break, but Bosch couldn’t convert.

England came out firing in the second half and they manufactured a lineout steal deep in their opponent's half, which resulted in flank Sam Underhill sprinting over the line for his team’s fourth.

Kriek’s men, however, pounced on a loose ball, flung it wide to Vers, who used all his pace to reach the tryline for his second touchdown.

A yellow card to England lock Kieran Treadwell, for playing the ball on the ground, presented SA Schools with a golden opportunity to claw their way back. The hosts were unable to take advantage as unforced errors cost them on a few occasions and flyhalf Rory Jennings added three points to England’s tally during that period.

With 10 minutes to go, Vers burst past two defenders, to set up centre JT Jackson for their third. But this was short-lived as England slotted a penalty in the next run of play.

Earlier in the day, the Saru Regional Academy beat Italy 48-29 and Wales pipped France 10-9.

SA Schools – Tries: Keano Vers (2), JT Jackson. Conversions: Curwin Bosch (2). Penalty: Bosch.
England – Tries: Roti Segan, Joe Batley, Max Clarke, Sam Underhill. Conversions: Rory Jennings (2). Penalties: Harry Mallinder (2).

SA Schools – 15 Curwin Bosch (Grey HS, Eastern Province), 14 Andell Loubser (Menlo Park HS, Blue Bulls), 13 Heino Bezuidenhout (Daniel Pienaar HS, Eastern Province), 12 JT Jackson (Oakdale, South Western Districts), 11 Keanu Vers (Grey HS, Eastern Province), 10 Thinus de Beer (Waterkloof HS, Blue Bulls), 9 Marco Janse van Vuuren (Transvalia HS, Valke), 8 Edmund Rheeder (Klerksdorp HS, Leopards), 7 Junior Pokomela (Grey HS, Eastern Province), 6 Arnold Gerber (Menlo Park HS, Blue Bulls), 5 Eduan Zandberg (c) (Outeniqua HS, South Western Districts), 4 Aston Fortuin (Southdowns College, Blue Bulls), 3 Sarel-Marco Smith (Eldoraigne HS, Blue Bulls), 2 Jan-Henning Campher (Garsfontein HS, Blue Bulls), 1 Lupumlo Mguca (Daniel Pienaar HS, Eastern Province).
Subs: 16 Le Roux Baard (Outeniqua HS, South Western Districts), 17 Ngonidzashe Chidoma (Northwood HS, KwaZulu-Natal), 18 Ignatius Prinsloo (Grey College, Free State), 19 Kobus Wiese (Upington HS, Griquas), 20 Victor Maruping (Louis Botha THS, Free State), 21 Embrose Papier (Garsfontein HS, Blue Bulls), 22 Eduan Keyter (Afrikaans Seuns HS, Blue Bulls), 23 Jerry Danquah (Queens College, Border).

England – 15 Taylor Prell, 14 Kai Little, 13 Max Clarke, 12 Harry Mallinder, 11 Roti Segun, 10 Rory Jennings, 9 Will Homer, 8 Lewis Ludlam, 7 Sam Underhill, 6 Charlie Beckett, 5 Joe Batley, 4 Kieran Treadwell, 3 Ciaran Parker, 2 Ollie Adams, 1 Lewis Bryce.
Subs: 16 James Fish, 17 Owen Hills, 18 Seb Adeniran-Olule, 19 Joe Maksymiw, 20 George Nott, 21 Joe Marchant, 22 Ollie Thornley, 23 John Williams, 24 Theo Brophy Clews. 

Photo: Petri Oeschger/Gallo Images

Post by

Mariette Adams