World Rugby has ruled that the decision to disallow England’s try against the All Blacks was the correct call by the match officials.
Flank Sam Underhill scored what looked to be the winning try for England after he secured possession following teammate Courtney Lawes’ charge down on TJ Perenara’s box kick.
Referee Jérôme Garcès initially awarded the try, but later consulted South African TMO Marius Jonker, who ruled Lawes was in an offside position in the lead-up to the charge down.
When taking into account World Rugby’s new TMO trial, which aims to give back responsibility to the on-field referee, it was argued that Garcès was wrong to allow Jonker to make the final call on the matter.
But according to the Guardian, World Rugby has ruled that due to mitigating factors, Garcès was within his rights to defer the final decision to the TMO and that the correct decision – to disallow the try – was made in the end.
Photo: Shaun Botterril/Getty Images