Etzebeth, Burger back for Stormers

Springbok duo Eben Etzebeth and Schalk Burger have both been named in the Stormers squad for the match against the Sharks at Newlands on Saturday.

Etzebeth has recovered from a chest injury and will take his place in the second row alongside Manuel Carizza after both Jurie van Vuuren (shoulder) and Ruan Botha (concussion) were ruled out.

In other changes to the starting XV, Siya Kolisi comes in at No 7 for his first start of 2015 in place of Michael Rhodes, while Scarra Ntubeni starts at hooker in place of Bongi Mbonambi. Neil Rautenbach will make his Vodacom Super Rugby debut from the bench after Mbonambi was ruled out at the 11th hour with a shoulder injury.

Elsewhere on the bench, Burger comes in following his arrival from Japan on Tuesday, where he's joined by Alistair Vermaak (in for Oliver Kebble) and a fit-again Jean Kleyn.

'We’re expecting a ferocious onslaught from a powerful and experienced Sharks team, who were unlucky to lose away last weekend,' said coach Allister Coetzee.

'We’re certainly not reading anything into that defeat to the Bulls, in fact, we know that will only make the Sharks more dangerous.

'It’s always good to bring back players like Eben and Schalk who understand the culture of the Stormers and who boast big-game experience.

'They are short on recent game time for us, but their presence is a big boost for us – especially in light of the injuries to Mike, Ruan and Jurie.'

Stormers – 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Johnny Kotze, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen (c), 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Nizaam Carr, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16. Neil Rautenbach, 17 Alistair Vermaak, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Jean Kleyn, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Huw Jones.

Super Rugby teams (Round 4)

Photo: Carl Fourie/Gallo Images