Challenge Cup final: Pollard back, Wiese starts for Tigers

Handre Pollard and Cobus Reinach are among the Springboks who will feature in the European Challenge Cup final as Montpellier face the Leicester Tigers.

ALSO READ: Cheslin Kolbe is the best rugby player in the world

The two giants will clash at Twickenham on Friday evening, as two-time European Cup-winners Leicester take on Montpellier, who are looking for their second European title.

Leicester come into the final on the back of a string of high-profile European successes, having seen off Connacht Rugby, Newcastle Falcons and Ulster Rugby en route to a first final in 12 years.

Montpellier have proven stubborn opposition in their quest for a second Challenge Cup title, edging out Benetton Rugby and then Bath Rugby on the road to the semi-finals.

These two teams have never met in the Challenge Cup, however, they have faced each other in the Champions Cup twice previously – the Tigers coming out on top in both pool-stage matches in 2013-14.

As expected, both Montpellier and the Leicester Tigers will have a strong South African influence in their match-day squads.

Jan Serfontein and Johan Goosen will form the midfield combination for Montpellier, who will be captained by France hooker Guilhem Guirado.

The French club’s bench looks very strong, with Springbok halfback combination Handre Pollard and Cobus Reinach joined by veteran hooker Bismarck du Plessis, promising prop Robert Rodgers and Bulls-bound lock/flank Jacques du Plessis.

Montpellier – 15 Anthony Bouthier, 14 Arthur Vincent, 13 Johan Goosen, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Vincent Rattez, 10 Alex Lozowski, 9 Benoit Paillaugue, 8 Alexandre Becognee, 7 Yacouba Camara, 6 Fulgence Ouedraogo, 5 Paul Willemse, 4 Florian Verhaeghe, 3 Mohamed Haouas, 2 Guilhem Guirado (c), 1 Enzo Forletta.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Robert Rodgers, 18 Titi Lamositele, 19 Tyler Duguid, 20 Jacques du Plessis, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Handre Pollard, 23 Gabriel N’gandebe.

Meanwhile, Leicester have named a starting lineup that includes an all-South African back row. Jasper Wiese, who has been involved in the Springbok alignment camps for the British & Irish Lions series, continues at No 8 and is joined by Hanro Liebenberg and Cyle Brink.

Former Cheetahs prop Luan de Bruin has been named on the bench.

Leicester Tigers – 15 Freddie Steward, 14 Guy Porter, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Dan Kelly, 11 Nemani Nadolo, 10 George Ford, 9 Richard Wigglesworth, 8 Jasper Wiese,  7 Cyle Brink, 6 Hanro Liebenberg, 5 Calum Green, 4 Harry Wells, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Tom Youngs (c), 1 Ellis Genge.
Subs: 16 Charlie Clare, 17 Luan de Bruin, 18 Joe Heyes, 19 Cameron Henderson, 20 Tommy Reffell, 21 Ben Youngs, 22 Zack Henry, 23 Kini Murimurivalu.

The match is expected to be played in front of 10,000 fans.

Photo: Jean Catuffe/Getty Images

Post by

Dylan Jack