Ex-Kings duo headline Academy side

Tim Agaba and Siviwe Soyizwapi have been included in the 12-man Sevens Academy squad for the Dubai tournament.

The duo, formerly with the EP Kings, have agreed terms with Saru to play sevens for the next two years.

Frankie Horne, who was left out of the Blitzboks squad earlier this week, will captain the academy team at the tournament which takes place from 4 to 5 December.

The side, known as the Samurai Internationals, also includes Blitzboks Ruhan Nel, Rosco Speckman and Stephan Dippenaar.

Team manager Marius Schoeman said he was looking forward to seeing Agaba and Soyizwapi in action in the same team and that Horne and the other senior players will play a mentoring role throughout the tournament.

'They [Agaba and Soyizwapi] are talented players and will find themselves amongst very experienced company in Dubai, where the opposition will also be very tough.

'Frankie has got vast experience of playing on the World Series circuit and he and the other Springbok Sevens players will give guidance to the promising youngsters.'

Sevens Academy squad – Timothy Agaba, Sandile Ngcobo, Frankie Horne (c), Dylan Sage, Dewald Human, Rosco Speckman, Sphamandla Ngcobo, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Joel Booysen, Ruhan Nel, Sibahle Maxwane, Stephan Dippenaar.

Photo: Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images

Post by

Mariette Adams