Exeter set up Saracens showdown

The Exeter Chiefs will face Saracens in the English Premiership final after beating Wasps 34-23 at Sandy Park on Saturday.

Exeter led 20-14 at half-time thanks to a try from centre Ian Whitten and a penalty try in the 39th minute after referee Greg Garner ruled Wasps had held up play illegally on the tryline. He also sent hooker Carlo Festuccia to the sin bin. Festuccia and scrumhalf Dan Robson had scored the visitors' first-half tries.

The hosts made their one-man advantage count when flanker Dave Ewers went over in the 46th minute, and secured the win with another penalty try in the final minute of the match.

Exeter Chiefs – Tries: Ian Whitten, penalty try (2), Dave Ewers. Conversions: Gareth Steenson (4). Penalties: Steenson (2).
Wasps – Tries: Carlo Festuccia, Dan Robson. Conversions: Jimmy Gopperth (2). Penalties: Gopperth (3).

Exeter Chiefs – 15 Phil Dollman, 14 Jack Nowell, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Ian Whitten, 11 Olly Woodburn, 10 Gareth Steenson (c), 9 Will Chudley, 8 Don Armand, 7 Julian Salvi, 6 Dave Ewers, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 Mitch Lees, 3 Harry Williams, 2 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 1 Ben Moon.
Subs: 16 Jack Yeandle, 17 Alec Hepburn, 18 Tomas Francis, 19 Ollie Atkins, 20 Thomas Waldrom, 21 Dave Lewis, 22 Sam Hill, 23 James Short.

Wasps – 15 Charles Piutau, 14 Christian Wade, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Siale Piutau, 11 Frank Halai, 10 Jimmy Gopperth, 9 Dan Robson, 8 Nathan Hughes, 7 George Smith, 6 James Haskell (c), 5 Bradley Davies, 4 Joe Launchbury, 3 Jake Cooper-Woolley, 2 Carlo Festuccia, 1 Matt Mullan.
Subs: 16 Ashley Johnson, 17 Simon McIntyre, 18 Lorenzo Cittadini, 19 Will Rowlands, 20 Sam Jones, 21 Joe Simpson, 22 Ruaridh Jackson, 23 Rob Miller.

Photo: Michael Steele/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt