Force tweak pack for Rebels

The Force have made three changes to their starting XV for their match against the Rebels in Melbourne.

Two of the three personnel changes are injury-enforced, after Wallabies No 8 Ben McMalman was ruled out with a fractured cheekbone and lock Adam Coleman with a broken toe. 

Chris Alcock returns to replace McMalman, but the former will start at blindside flank with Angus Cottrell shifting to the back of the scrum. Steve Mafi will take Coleman's spot in the run-on team. In the front row, Tetera Faulkner has been reinstated as tighthead prop ahead of Guy Millar. The backline is unchanged.

South African duo Wilhelm Steenkamp and Brynard Stander have been named as part of an extended bench. 

Following their 21-20 victory over the Vodacom Bulls last week, Rebels coach Tony McGahan has named an unchanged match 23. 

Force – 15 Dane Haylett-Petty, 14 Luke Morahan, 13 Marcel Brache, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Zack Holmes, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Angus Cottrell, 7 Matt Hodgson (c), 6 Chris Alcock, 5 Steve Mafi, 4 Sam Wykes, 3 Tetera Faulkner, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 Pek Cowan.
Subs (one to be omitted): 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Chris Heiberg, 18 Guy Millar, 19 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 20 Brynard Stander, 21 Ryan Louwrens, 22 Luke Burton, 23 Patrick Dellit, 24 Oliver Hoskins.

Rebels – 15 Mike Harris, 14 Bryce Hegarty, 13 Dom Shipperley, 12 Mitch Inman, 11 Cam Crawford, 10 Jack Debreczeni, 9 Nic Stirzaker, 8 Scott Higginbotham (c), 7 Colby Fainga’a, 6 Sean McMahon, 5 Lopeti Timani, 4 Luke Jones, 3 Paul Alo-Emile, 2 Pat Leafa, 1 Toby Smith.
Subs: 16 Tom Sexton, 17 Cruze Ah-Nau, 18 Tim Metcher, 19 Sam Jeffries, 20 Scott Fuglistaller, 21 Jordy Reid, 22 Ben Meehan, 23 Tom English.

Photo: Paul Kane/Getty Images

Post by

Mariette Adams