Four Boks in Rugby Champs team of the tournament

Four Springboks have cracked the nod for the official Rugby Championship team of the tournament, selected by World Rugby.

Steven Kitshoff and Lood de Jager have both been named in the forwards pack, while centre Lukhanyo Am and wing Makazole Mapimpi are among the backs.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by World Rugby (@worldrugby)

Despite finishing second in the 2021 tournament, Australia are the best-represented nation, with a total of six players selected, including veteran flyhalf Quade Cooper.

Cooper made a famous return to Test rugby as he slotted the winning penalty to give Australia a 28-26 victory over the Springboks, his first game for the national team since 2017.

Also representing Australia are tighthead prop Taniela Tupou, captain and flank Michael Hooper, scrumhalf Tate McDermott, centre Samu Kerevi and wing Andrew Kellaway.

New Zealand have five players in the team, but only one player from their backline in fullback Jordie Barrett.

World Rugby’s Rugby Championship team of the tournament:

15 Jordie Barrett (NZ), 14 Andrew Kellaway (AUS), 13 Lukhanyo Am (RSA), 12 Samu Kerevi (AUS), 11 Makazole Mapimpi (RSA), 10 Quade Cooper (AUS), 9 Tate McDermott (AUS), 8 Ardie Savea (NZ), 7 Michael Hooper (AUS), 6 Akira Ioane (NZ), 5 Lood de Jager (RSA), 4 Brodie Retallick (NZ), 3 Taniela Tupou (AUS), 2 Codie Taylor (NZ), 1 Steven Kitshoff (RSA).

Post by

Dylan Jack