Fresh faces in All Blacks squad

Steve Hansen has named five uncapped players in his 35-man wider training squad ahead of New Zealand's three-Test series against England in June.

Tongan-born centre Malakai Fekitoa, who has been in fine form for the Highlanders this season, has been handed the chance to impress in three-day training camps in Christchurch and Wellington later this month.

The other new faces in the squad are Blues lock Patrick Tuipulotu, as well as hookers Nathan Harris (Chiefs) and Liam Coltman (Highlanders).

TJ Perenara rounds out the players who have yet to don the famous black jersey, although he was part of squads for the Rugby Championship and November tours last year.

Jerome Kaino has earned a recall for the first time since their World Cup victory in 2011, while Dan Carter was not considered as he continues to regain fitness following his six-month sabbatical.

The official 31-man All Blacks squad for the series will be named on Sunday, 1 June.

All Blacks training squad:

Forwards – Keven Mealamu (Blues), Nathan Harris (Chiefs), Dane Coles (Hurricanes), Liam Coltman (Highlanders), Charlie Faumuina (Blues), Tony Woodcock (Blues), Ben Franks (Hurricanes), Wyatt Crockett (Crusaders), Owen Franks (Crusaders), Patrick Tuipulotu (Blues), Brodie Retallick (Chiefs), Jeremy Thrush, (Hurricanes), Dominic Bird (Crusaders), Sam Whitelock (Crusaders), Jerome Kaino (Blues), Steven Luatua (Blues), Sam Cane (Chiefs), Liam Messam (Chiefs), Victor Vito (Hurricanes), Richie McCaw (Crusaders), Kieran Read (Crusaders), Luke Whitelock (Crusaders).

Backs – Tawera Kerr-Barlow (Chiefs), TJ Perenara (Hurricanes), Aaron Smith (Highlanders), Aaron Cruden (Chiefs), Beauden Barrett (Hurricanes), Colin Slade (Crusaders), Ma'a Nonu (Blues), Conrad Smith (Hurricanes), Ryan Crotty (Crusaders), Malakai Fekitoa (Highlanders), Cory Jane (Hurricanes), Julian Savea (Hurricanes), Israel Dagg (Crusaders), Ben Smith (Highlanders).

Photo: Rob Jefferies/Getty Images