Gatland gives Davies the nod

Wales coach Warren Gatland has included uncapped scrumhalf Aled Davies in an extended 37-man Six Nations squad, while recalling Tom James and Josh Turnbull.

James and Turnbull last played for Wales in 2010 and 2014 respectively, although James was part of Wales' World Cup training squad before withdrawing through injury. Davies earns inclusion after impressing for the Scarlets last season.

The experienced squad includes 31 players who featured for Wales in last year's World Cup and will be led by Wales' most experienced captain, Sam Warburton.

'We have selected a squad that rewards players' form as well as picking a lot of experience and that continuity is important to us,' Gatland said. 'We have picked a larger squad than normal, we have a few injuries at the moment, those players aren't too far away from getting back on the field, so, we are happy with the mix.

'Aled is someone who has been on the radar the last couple of years and his selection is reward for his form. Tom is playing very well for the Blues and we have been impressed with Josh's performances recently.'

Wales kick off their 2016 campaign away to reigning champions Ireland on 7 February.

Wales Six Nations squad:

Forwards: Rob Evans (Scarlets), Paul James (Ospreys), Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Luke Charteris (Racing 92), Bradley Davies (Wasps), Dominic Day (Bath Rugby), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Josh Turnbull (Cardiff Blues), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons), James King (Ospreys), Dan Lydiate (Ospreys), Ross Moriarty (Gloucester Rugby), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues).
Backs: Aled Davies (Scarlets), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Lloyd Williams (Cardiff Blues) Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Rhys Priestland (Bath Rugby), Cory Allen (Cardiff Blues), Jonathan Davies (Clermont Auvergne), Tyler Morgan (Newport Gwent Dragons), Jamie Roberts (Harlequins), Hallam Amos (Newport Gwent Dragons), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Tom James (Cardiff Blues), George North (Northampton Saints), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues), Matthew Morgan (Bristol Rugby), Liam Williams (Scarlets).

Photo: Jan Kruger/Getty Images

Post by

Craig Lewis